Sunday, February 28, 2010

O Cananda!!

The Olympics have been so fun to watch!! I always seem to get sucked in every time they come around especially the winter Olympics where the Canadians always seem to do better. Of course I always feel a little defensive living in the US...Today is the big Canada vs USA gold medal hockey game and I'm nervous for my team. I'm hoping they feel a little fired up after losing once to the US. As someone said to me, "You can take the girl out of Canada but you can't take Canada out of the girl!". Proud to be Canadian!!

At the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics, I caught glimpses of the Canadian atheletes wearing the now infamous red mittens. I said to Byron, "Ooooo, I want a pair of those." I didn't know they were so popular and out of stock everywhere in Canada. Hmmmm...I made a comment on Facebook about wanting some mittens and had several offers of people willing to keep their eyes open for when they were restocked in stores. And then....a gal that I went to school with at Concordia sends me a message that asked for my address!! Really?? She had an extra pair of mittens that she had purchased before Christmas and was offering to send them to me!!! So cool!!! The best part was that when I got them in the mail there was an extra "pint-sized" pair for Mackenzie!! So, thanks Rachel for making this displaced Canadian feel a little closer to home!!



Trying to get us both in the picture was pretty funny!!


Success!!





No comments:

Post a Comment